Pools of time

Here,...

Today a two-day migraine gradually faded away. I voted. I puttered around and played with the disorganized part of my yarn and wool collection. And then spent a little over an hour and a half buying and installing a new printer in the house office.

...here,...

A momentous occasion that. We’ve used the same limping-along printer for at least 12 years. It could no longer be trusted to run on its own and frankly I was a little tired of spending part of my evenings printing out Kate’s homework. At some point I became the only one in the house who could get the thing to run. Besides, I’ve had to special order ink cartridges for it for over a year. The end had come!

...there,...

After weeks of nonstop pressure for my job and for my weekend courses, I have abruptly found deep gathered pools of time to garden, cook, knit, and ready myself for the next onslaught. Notice I didn’t say clean. Really need to man up and hire someone for that before the house is condemned.

...& everywhere.

But, save for the grinding pain of the headache, the pools of time have been wonderfully soothing and restful and lovely.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Unfinished things, Worky work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pools of time

  1. DawnK says:

    Such pretty leaves. I’m glad you had time to slow down and knit a little! I don’t know why it takes so long to set up a new printer. It is a long, drawn-out process.

    • pattiblaine says:

      This one (a Kodak ESP 9250) practically sets itself up. I spent most of the time running to Best Buy twice. First trip, shopping for a printer; second trip, bringing in our old one for $50 off the one we brought home. The new printer is (knock wood) Amazing! Of course, I’m comparing it to the 12yo…

Leave a Reply

