Mixed feelings

It’s complicated. I like this season but with reservations. Don’t misunderstand me. I love the colors. I am fond of color and they are so beautiful at this time of year. Even the brown and wet bits. There is nothing as cheerful as bright waxy yellow tulip tree leaves against a brilliant blue October sky.

But then comes November. And rain mixed with snow and the bright yellow leaves aren’t so bright any more. And they aren’t on the tree either. They’re piled at the edge of the yard where you hope they’ll be picked up by the town before they’re covered with mounds of snow.

Snow. And bitter cold. I am not a fan.

On Wednesday morning the first hard frost ended the life of the best cherry tomato plants I’ve grown yet since moving here (July 2006 for those who’ve lost track). So I spent some time pulling those up and getting rid of the sprawling gone-to-seed arugula and the spent broccoli plants. A few of the latter remain and have been fairly hardy in the frost thus far so they’re still standing. I also pulled up the last beet and roasted it for dinner — shamelessly keeping it all to myself as I’m the only one that really likes them at our house.

So the garden is essentially done for the year. Which means less work for me to do but less immediate joy in harvest-to-table. I have tried to savor it as long as it lasts. And we have hopes of building a coldframe for winter lettuces. Hopes but too little time have we.

Fall is also the harbinger of sock issues for me. I know that’s silly. I don’t like wearing them but they are useful in avoiding the whole cold feet thing. I don’t like buying them when I can knit them but they aren’t my favorite thing to knit. Particularly the second one of a pair.

Maybe I should develop the eccentric habit of wearing two different socks. I am fond of color…

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Finished things, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Woolly thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mixed feelings

  1. Socks 2 at time is the way to go. I like 2 at a time on 2 circ—because i had double already of most sizes, and most were short (24 to 32) not 40’s (best for magic loop)
    only R1 is hard–Here’s how i start–(a 9 minute video)–

    I love the feel of wool socks.. (and wear them all day, and then to bed at night.
    the next morning they are off to shower, and i start again with a new pair.

    I tend to wear skirts–so my socks show.. but with jeans–go right ahead and wear mis-matched pairs.
    If you insist on using dpn’s and going one at time.. there are some patterns that are symetrical–knit one sock toe up and on cuff down–it’s fun ! (and you end up with something closer to a matched pair!)
    (i love the scarlet maple leaves.. I might copy that image and get it printed to frame–that will be the second photo of your’s I’ve done that to!)

  2. Erin says:

    Wow, has it really been that long since you moved? Seems like only a couple of years ago. I know what you mean about dreading the weather. I know it isn’t nearly as bad down here as up where you are, but I do not like being cold! Hope the snow isn’t too bad for you this year.

  3. DawnK says:

    I only have one pair of hand-knit socks. My 18yo has many! She whips out a pair of socks, even one at a time, in no time flat. She’s an awesome knitter.

    I hate having cold feet, so socks it is. I rarely wear them in the summer.

    Oh yeah, I hate when the flowers die. My SIL and I always lament to each other in the fall, about the end of the growing season. She’s a great SIL and is always sharing bits of her plants with me. I had a beautiful crop of echinacae flowers this year! They lasted for a LONG time. I have some that I bought and paid a mint for, and I have a bunch that she gave me, for free!

Leave a Reply

