Maybe this time

Does this happen to you? When daylight savings time ends in the fall, and we turn all the clocks back, there is little disruption to my circadian rhythm. Spring and the onset of daylight savings time is another story. Big drama there. I’m usually off balance for at least two weeks. But not in the fall. Instead it’s like my body and mind slip into the new/old time like putting on a favored cardigan, or a pair of comfortable shoes. As if this, finally, is home and how time should feel. Even though the late afternoon darkens quickly, and the sunlight deeply slants throughout the day, the light in the morning at 7 is correct and good and comforting.

I worked over the weekend. I wasn’t well Wednesday evening through most of Saturday, but had to be upright and congenial at a convention anyway. So, when Monday rolled around with its promise of a knitting workshop and a guild meeting, I felt no guilt at all in not lifting a finger for work. I went to the morning workshop (Advanced Cabling — with steeks!) with a good friend who drove me to lunch afterward. Thai food. Mmmm. She picked me up again for the evening guild meeting too.

Jared Flood (of Brooklyn Tweed) was the teacher and speaker at both workshop and guild meeting, and he was confident and informative. He taught six workshops from Saturday through Monday, but managed to seem fresh and eager when I finally met him Monday morning regardless. In the Advanced Cabling class he taught us how to cable without cabling needles, how to design a cabled sweater, how to crochet steeks (steeks are sections of knitting that will be opened — i.e. cut — once the knitting is done, and the crocheting is a means of reinforcing the soon-to-be cut edges so the whole endeavor does not end in disaster), and how to pick up stitches along a steeked edge for a buttonband. All in about three hours. Along the way, he was polite and funny. And he loved my sweater.

Above is my unblocked work from Monday’s class. A little swatch, cabled and steeked, with buttonbands and buttons. Right side up on the left, upside down on the right. I crocheted the steek edges with dark brown and the picked-up stitches for the button band made the steek edges self-face. Very exciting. Although, maybe you’d have to have been there to comprehend fully my joy.

Thanks to my good friend, to Jared and to learning a little more about knitting, it was perhaps the best day off ever.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Connections, Finished things, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Woolly thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe this time

  1. DawnK says:

    Sounds like you had fun! The pictures for the knitting swatches aren’t showing up, though. I’d love to see them!

Leave a Reply

