Thanksgiving

The past two weeks have been crazy here. I’ve been sick. Kate wrapped up her participation in a middle school musical — that sounds neat and tidy compared to what actually occurs when one wraps up a middle school musical. Long rehearsal hours, and then the performances. She came home from the fourth and final with a sore throat and her own version of the cold I’d had. Needless to say, we’ve been weary and over-worked.

Yesterday, no school and Bruce stayed home from work. All three of us cooked for today: Kate, swedish meatballs; Bruce, stuffing; me, a pumpkin and an apple pie. We watched Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl. We went to church. We rested and played and laughed a lot. What a cool drink of water yesterday was! Today we’ll be with friends for a meal, and we’re looking forward to that.

I have not felt like doing much but complain here about how terribly busy we are and what an awful lot I’ve got to do, and so I’ve posted little lately. But in keeping with this, my favorite US holiday, I’m practicing a little gratitude this morning.

I’m thankful for the time we have with family and friends, and for the brisk November air. I’m thankful that although this morning’s skies are decidedly grey, we’ve had some stellar and uncharacteristically clear blue skies in the past several days. I’m grateful for a loyal, happy and healthy dog companion, even if she did celebrate this feast day by killing a squirrel (her first after a year of solid trying) and laying its bloodied corpse at my feet. I’m also grateful that life engages us so thoroughly that we are kept busy and active and interested in being, and that even with all of that we are able to give time and talent where it’s desperately needed.

I’m thankful for you! and the power to tweet and have this virtual life, which is really rather silly and frivolous, isn’t it? The world is a deeply hungry place. We here don’t have much… the kid’s music bills alone keep our capacity for excess to a minimum. But we are among the lucky few in the grand scheme of things. I know it’s best to remember that often, and live accordingly.

This is my favorite holiday. Not for the gluttony, or the misinterpretation of colonization and its effects on native peoples, or the triple stack of shopping ads that came with the morning paper and the accompanying avarice “celebrated” tomorrow, but for the taking stock, the gathering of and caring for loved ones, the remembering to be thankful and look for good even when times are hard and living is difficult. There’s always something positive to set my heart on, and look! There’s a national holiday, a nation-wide shutting off and shuttering up time for doing just that.

Happy Thanksgiving! Even if you aren’t celebrating this US holiday today!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Connections, Unfinished things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. Sarah says:

    Hope your day was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

