Bright beginnings

Yesterday ended with snow. Not much, but the heavy and wet kind followed by a freezing cold night. Today began with sunshine and those wonderful bright blue shadows you can only find on sunny, fresh snow mornings.

I ran some errands and took a couple of quick photos, then put my nose to the grindstone… I mean, computer screen, and typed away on a paper that is due tomorrow. There were occasional work-related e-mail interruptions. I do wish that my inbox wasn’t on the same surface as my workspace sometimes.

Shortly before noon, after some persistent wet-nosed prodding from Carmen the dog, I looked out the window and realized the sun was gone!

How do a whole morning and shift in weather slide by without notice?

Writing. I enjoy writing almost as much as I once enjoyed painting. I feel about the same level of certainty that I’m creating so much crap while I’m at it, but I lose time. Hours and hours of it. There’s a difference though. With writing, when I’m done … I don’t know whether it’s maturity level or practice or what, but I’m almost confident that the end result isn’t half bad. Might not bring another A, but won’t bring a C either. I can honestly say I never felt that once when I was finished with a painting. Mostly because I was never really sure when I was finished! With writing, however, it’s glaringly apparent. One minute I’m editing the umpteenth draft and the next minute I can do nothing more to it. It’s finished.

Maybe I should try that painting thing again… It’s been a decade and a half. I’m definitely older, so probably a little wiser, right? Maybe.

This latest paper was a complicated thing. The coursework was on the history of Christian liturgy and we were to draw up a service plan for our worship tradition and then explain our choices in an 8-10 page paper. My service plan (in excruciating detail) was 8 pages long. My paper was 9 pages, explaining why I chose the date of the service, the words spoken, the hymns sung, and what points I thought the sermon ought to include. And I had to draw a floorplan. Excruciating detail. I chose the first Sunday of Advent. The beginning of the liturgical year. And I think I would have enjoyed being a part of the worship service I designed. There’d be an awful lot of singing…

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Finished things, Higher ed, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bright beginnings

  1. Hello Patti,
    I appreciate your blog. And, I’m trying to draw courage and fortitude from it. Yesterday I opened a TouchpointsCreative blog on WordPress. Since, as part of my business I offer Social Media consulting, even though there’s only me to wear all the hats and get everything done in my biz, I feel I MUST have a blog. Enough with the internal debating, so I’ve made the plunge. Last night my sleep was an ongoing packing dream – in which I’m endlessly trying to pack for a trip but a can’t gather together and/or make the choices of what I need to bring. These packing dreams definitely are an expression of anxiety for me. The positive variant of this dream was that I was packing to go to the Florida Keys and I was happy about it. I take that as a sign that at an important level I feel positive and excited about this blogging thing. So, as I say, I take encouragement from yours. Thanks.

    • pattiblaine says:

      It’s definitely a journey, this blogging thing. Often a bit too self-revelatory for comfort and you may remember I hate feeling vulnerable. But I’m stronger because of it and that’s a very good thing. Do pack those bags, find your purpose and go!

  2. Hi Patti, Hi Elizabeth….I was so surprised when I started reading this….how is it possible one site can address the two things I am working on/in….blogging and packing! It must be fate! I just started an ecommerce business (www.perfectlypackedinc.com) for folks like me who dread/hate packing but, of course, to get the word out on the web I know I need to blog, facebook, twitter, linkedin etc. Writing has never been a problem for me until now and I feel like a deer in the headlights at the mere thought of writing a blog post. One of my business colleagues put it very well…she said she had trouble overcoming the notion that it was ‘blatant self promotion.’ However, as with other things, it does get easier with more understanding and practice. I think as much as anything it is about just getting out there and trying different things. So carry on boldly! Here’s to blogging!

    • pattiblaine says:

      Your “blatant self promotion” comment rings a pretty resonant bell for me, as I’m pretty sure I said the same thing about blogging more than once before I started! This is my second go at the endeavor, however, and I have no regrets.

      It’s an outlet, a place to vent on occasion, and in that sense, clearly all about me and my life. But it’s also a place to practice the craft of writing, and to keep friends apprised of what I’m up to, and to offer up my thoughts (such as they are) on life (such as it is) for whoever might find any of that interesting or valuable. Everyone else is free to ignore it completely.

      So go for it! or not. Whatever works for you.

Leave a Reply

