Getting serious

Yesterday morning I took Kate to her skating lesson. She’s not a serious skater, but she is taking lessons to become more comfortable on skates and ice. While she was practicing her crossovers and glides before class, I started reading for my next weekend class and knitting.

Something about the yellow-green fluorescent lighting reminded me of the first photo I took of the knitting project I was holding in my hands, and I was suddenly struck with the realization that I started this Bohus Stickning sweater last winter and worked on it at this same egg salad yellow table under these same sickly poor lights whilst Kate worked on her skating skills.

I’m a faster, more monogamous knitter than that pathetic fact would indicate, so why, I wondered, have I only just completed the back, and started the sleeves? And when will I begin and finish the front? Just how old do I plan to be when I finally wear this thing? Or am I never going to wear it? Sigh.February 2010

Which all leads me to this public resolution: I’m going to finish this sweater before I start anything new. Just so you know how difficult this is for me: I’m itching to begin two pairs of mittens so I’ll be ready when a kit for a third pair arrives shortly after Christmas. (From Riihivilla: Mitten Kits. Thanks Robyn!) I’ve wound the skeins into balls, and gathered the needles and instructions I’ll need into bags for quick grabbing and easy toting. But no. I can’t stand looking at this Bohus lying in an unfinished heap gathering dust any longer. Nothing new on knitting needles until it’s done!

December 2010It’s a beautiful sweater, really, and wonderfully soft, but here’s the problem. The intricate and intriguing yoke part? All done. Now it’s the seemingly endless black stuff. Basic stockinette stitch interspersed with various increases and decreases. Ho hum. And fine black yarn. Angora and wool, but fine. As in thin. Really thin. On 2.25mm needles. A devil to see when the light isn’t perfect. And so I stall on it repeatedly.

I have decided, however, that I want to wear it this winter. Before my end-of-March birthday. Resolved. Now, where are my glasses? Oh, yeah, and my book on writing sermons. Well. Crap. Maybe I’d better just read this afternoon. One or the other of those is going to demand all my concentration and I know which one I’ll have to write a paper on in a week. Unfortunately? It’s not the Bohus.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Higher ed, Unfinished things, Woolly thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting serious

  1. Ask Santa for one of those portable Ott (type) lights.. Its the only salvations when knitting black! carry it (in the car) and use as needed.

  2. Sarah says:

    Looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

