In which I suck at blogging, and so distract you with two photos

There’s been a lot of snow lately. We’re an inch and a half or so from breaking some sort of record for December snowfall. I’m a competitive sort, but I’d rather not win this one thank you very much. And while we’re told that this snow has come to us from another country — Canada, no surprise there, and Georgian Bay off Lake Huron, to be precise — it’s exoticness has worn thin.

I’ve been procrastinating on a writing assignment. The sermon. As I don’t plan ever to deliver one, I’m not sure it’s at all fair that I have to write one. That right there may be the biggest writer’s block ever. Christmas and all its attendant mayhem isn’t helping either. Solid blocks of time for writing I simply do. not. have. And there’s reading to do too, for the next weekend of classes in early January.

I did manage to read this book: A Long Walk to Water. It’s wonderfully written, geared toward young readers, and I read through it in less than two hours. I’ve met Salva, and support his efforts for Water for Sudan, as do the students and staff at the school for which I coordinate volunteers and tutors. I sent him birthday greetings a week or so ago, and he wrote back telling me how hot it is now where he is, arranging to dig wells in Sudan. I hope he’s enjoying it as much as he can, and more often than not!

Because this is what it looks like here now. Sunshine is rare and savored. Mostly the skies are grey. Unrelentingly grey, and miserably cold. Everything is covered with mounds of snow. Some of it comical. Some of it dreary. All of it cold. And all of it growing old awfully early this winter which doesn’t officially begin until tomorrow…

Blergh.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Crazy talk, Finished things, Unfinished things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In which I suck at blogging, and so distract you with two photos

  1. sermon, from the IE root swer –to speak (answer!) and to swear.

    Sometimes, when i get stuck at at project, i try and understand what i am doing, and go back to the root meaning of the word. To swear (like the word sermon) has 2 almost conflicting meaning –to curse or to attest. Sermon is a religious talk, (or a punishing lecture). but at its root, it is to speak.
    speak to the meaning of the words. religion (another interesting word) has at its root lig. (to bind) as in a ligature.
    so a sermon is: speaking, attesting to, the binds that tie us together. (look i’ve half written it.. Now add some theology, and personal testament (LOOK that word up) and you are on your way!

  2. Robyn says:

    Well Patti, I’ll take whatever scrap you can throw our way in terms of blogging. And I am totally jealous of your snow! I thought being in Canada was a guarantee of a white Christmas, but it isn’t so.

    Have a wonderful holiday! XOX

  3. Sarah says:

    Beautiful photos!

  4. DawnK says:

    Pretty pictures. Wisconsin has unrelenting gray skies, too, and we got a lot of snow on the 11th and 12th of December and one little storm after that, but no snow since.

    Are you getting hit by the eastern storm that was happening on 12-26. Hope you can dig yourself out! You’ll have more free time to read and write sermons, now that Christmas is over!

    • pattiblaine says:

      The storm is happening east of us, Dawn, and so we have heavy grey skies and a little wind with occasional flurries. No accumulation thus far and we really aren’t expecting any. Which is fine by me!

Leave a Reply

