The great reset/La grande remise

I know winter is barely begun, but look! Remember the last post with the distracting photos of snow? (Yes, I know it’s been a while… Holidays, paper to write, I’ve been a little busy.) The picture on the left is from then. The picture on the right? Today.

52ºF. Ice dam on garage roof? Gone. Snowy, ice guttered street? Melted away. Big snow-plowed pile blocking path to adjacent neighborhood? … Ok, that’s still there. But we can walk around it on grass now. Carmen the dog is very happy. So many rotting things to roll in and untended piles of poo to sniff. We walked and walked in the rain today. I will welcome the snow when it returns (probably next week), but I’m very grateful for time to work in the garden this morning, and being able to restock the woodpile in the garage.

Starting over. Ok, my French is virtually nonexistent and I apologize if “la grande remise” doesn’t mean anything near what I think it means, but hey. This day was so welcome, I had to say it in a language that makes it sound as special as it is. And German? Das große Zurückstellen. Gesundheit. Spanish? El gran reajuste. Meh. I’m standing by my weak French. So there.

Happy New Year! May 2011 be very kind to you and yours!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Finished things, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The great reset/La grande remise

  1. DawnK says:

    Das große Zurückstellen – zureuckstellen means to defer in German (I looked it up). So, this was a great deferment of winter? Or a break from the winter? We had one, too, although, it didn’t get up to 52 degrees. We had 40s, but it was warm and felt nice, plus it melted a lot of snow and the remainder of the frozen ruts left over from the December 11/12 storm. It was equally welcomed.

  2. Fiona says:

    Patti!!! How great to find your blog. I’ve missed you since your previous one disappeared….I think I found you today via a tweet (twitter?) on Erin’s so I owe her! I now have you bookmarked and will follow your doings; looking forward to catching up with Kate’s news too, though I’m struggling to believe she is 14. Happy New Year to you all 🙂

    • pattiblaine says:

      Hi Fiona! Was just thinking of you over Christmas and wondering how you are. I’m sorry to have disappeared on you. I’m very glad you found me. 🙂 Still dancing? Happy New Year to you all too!

Leave a Reply

