A new burdensome task? Or a frivolous adventure?


A few months ago, Kate and I were going through my stash of cookbooks and came upon this one, The Joy of Cookies, from which I had theretofore not baked a thing, and we joked to ourselves that we (meaning mostly I, as Kate has no time and I occasionally have some) should work our way through it like Julie Powell worked her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

This, of course, proves once and for all that we learned absolutely nothing like a valuable life lesson from the ensuing movie (Julie & Julia) which we’ve watched together at least four times. And like I need something more going on in my life? Really. Because when I say I occasionally I have some time, I’m talking about a few minutes, here and there, now and then.

Anyway, here we go.

First up? Cream Cheese Cookies. Delicious and not terribly fussy.

Second? Fat Rascals. Caused me to buy currants for the first time in my life. Also very good, even though I let them get a little too brown.

We are taking a brief hiatus in the action to loosen our belts, and stock up ingredients for the next one: Jumbles, which incidentally, Kate came home from school yesterday asking if I’d baked yet. Little did she know the few moments I’d spent in the kitchen on Friday since breakfast were whilst standing in my coat and scarf, eating a hastily made marble rye, ham and spinach sandwich over the kitchen sink after tutoring all morning, before walking the Carmen the dog and then re-sequestering her in the kitchen before picking up Kate from school. Yeah, sure. I baked cookies. Ha!

So. Anyone know where they stock the rosewater at Wegmans? Also, I know nothing about rosewater, but because chamomile tea sends me into anaphylactic shock should I be avoiding it altogether? Stocking up on the Benedryl, too, just in case.

p.s. Please excuse the blurry iPhone photos. They’re all I had time for, and then poof! the cookies were gone.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Crazy talk, Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A new burdensome task? Or a frivolous adventure?

  1. Diane says:

    The cookies look fantastic!

  2. DawnK says:

    They look good! I love your description of a busy day! LOL! Made me smile. I don’t have time to cook everything in the Julia cookbook. I’m not even going to try. Loved the Julie and Julia book AND movie.

  3. Amy Jo says:

    Good luck on your delicious cookie adventure! They sell rosewater at Indian grocery stores, so maybe it would be in the international section at Wegman’s? If you can’t find it, just let me know – I believe that we have a bottle lurking somewhere in the kitchen.

  4. Erin says:

    Fun! I can’t wait to watch as you progress.

  5. rose water, though non-prescription, is usually with prescription drugs. ask the druggist.
    not all drug stores carry it. (in my area, CVS doesn’t, but duane reade does )

    (along with oil of cloves.. which is often used medicinally (for tooth ache) but can be diluted (1:10 in plain alcohol (vodka)) to make clove extract (good for a flavor burst in cookies.. its clear (not the dark clove color) and it catches every one by surprise !
    it’s also good for pectin jelly spice candies!)

    • pattiblaine says:

      The international food aisle at Wegmans had it, Helen, and the baking aisle did too. The international food aisle is where I go for my Sunnyside, Queens food fix … Chocolate-covered digestive biscuits, Irish oatmeal and all!

  6. Gotta love any cookie, or other food for that matter, named ‘fat rascals’.

  7. Pingback: Jumbles and rosewater | Every Fibre of My Being

  8. Pingback: Mittens impossible? I don’t think so. | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

