The things we do for love

Every once in a great while, I am rewarded for my choice of undergraduate degree. During my senior year, after slaving away at a double major in art and psychology, I was told to choose my degree: Bachelor of Science in Studio Art, or Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. A BS in Art was too ironic to pass up. No regrets. Really.

The librarian at the school for which I coordinate the volunteer tutoring program asked if I knew anyone who could help her with a feltboard story she wanted to use this coming spring (it is coming, right? pesky weather!), and after failing to pass the job along to someone else, I took it upon myself. The story is about a lazy Easter bunny who sleeps when he should have been looking for eggs. When he finally gets around to it, the egg store is out of eggs, and so he visits a barn and asks for help from a chicken, a duck and a turkey. They freely give him all they’ve got. The librarian thought it would be fun to add a snake, an alligator and a sea turtle to the story… Yeah, right. Fun! Although what the sea turtle is doing in the barn with an alligator, I do not know! Probably best to not think too deeply about these things, yes?

***Warning! Objects in feltboard story may not be drawn to scale! Ok, they just aren’t. I mean, look at the size of those turtle eggs and the mama turtle! Ouch!***

Also, everything I’ve done for this little project may completely suck. I’ve lost all perspective.

Also, too? Happy St. Valentine’s day!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Finished things, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Worky work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The things we do for love

  1. DawnK says:

    Wow! That looks like a lot of work! The creatures are really cute! The kids won’t care about the size of the eggs in relation to the animal. If you made the eggs too small, the kids in back wouldn’t be able to see.

    • pattiblaine says:

      It was a lot of work. Felt is shockingly difficult to make fine detail w/. I confess I printed out a Sorry We’re Closed and a Sold Out sign and glued them on…

      Thanks for the vote of confidence, Dawn!

  2. Summer says:

    Those are just wonderful, Patti! I am sure the librarian will keep them for many years! Love the egg store, and the white chicken.

  3. Lidiya says:

    It’s so cute! No way they suck, are you kidding? I’d be surprised if all the kids don’t start asking moms for a set of their own.

Leave a Reply

