Chalk man

What to do after propping up terrified wife and mother through, not one, but two little public speaking engagements for which she is completely unqualified and unsuited but which she must perform as if suited and qualified and with a modicum of dignity and a smidgeon of passion? Why, go home and build a sidewalk chalk-decorated snowman to go along with their pasty-faced straw (wo)man. What else?

And in all seriousness, I had to speak at two services this morning about what we volunteers and tutors do at a city school and why. I was terrified. Mostly because I’m not clever enough to diminish people by imagining them in their underwear. And also because I’m impassioned enough about what I/we do to become a snotty-nosed mess in front of people whilst talking about it. It was touch and go, but it’s done, thank heaven. May I not have to do it again for a good long while! Although… if it brings in more Spanish-speaking tutors (may have snagged one out of the five volunteers) I’ll do it again in my underwear!

Ok, never mind. That might be bad for business.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Worky work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chalk man

  1. Fiona says:

    No worries, Patti – the first time is always the worst, and now you’ve done it you’ll never have to do it for the first time again 🙂

Leave a Reply

