On wool and color

If you are a knitter, if you feel strongly about wool, and if you love color as much as I do, you must read Jared Flood’s blog tour of the woolen mill in Harrisville. It follows the making of his Shelter line of yarn with his sharp eye for detail and his singularly short range of focus.

The wool is lovely to work with and positively blooms when bathed. And Jared’s photos are equally lovely. Plus the whole process is fascinating. Or at least it is to a knitter like me who also dabbles in the spinning and dyeing of wool now and then.

Shelter yarn, Hayloft colorway

And speaking of Flood and Shelter, a small celebration or two but subdued on this day of tsunami and chaos: I finished the blanket (Baby Shale Blanket, Brooklyn Tweed) above when I should have been wrapping up my latest writing assignment. And then I finished the writing assignment too. On to preparing for the next big thing!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On wool and color

  1. Erin says:

    Beautiful blanket, Patti. I love the subtle color variations!

  2. Lidiya says:

    I really want to try this yarn. Too bad my budget is a bit tight for anything knitted from storebought yarn. Send me your leftovers?

    • pattiblaine says:

      Lidiya, I might have two yards of this left, maybe a little more. I’m planning to knit a pair of mittens in Soot. Would you like me to wait until I’m done with those and send both, or fire this little bit off to you now? Not sure I have your address, if so. PM on the FB?
      It’s dearly priced stuff, but so warm and really beautiful. I’m afraid I used up as much of it as I could without spoiling a pattern repeat!
      I have three friends here who are knitting with various colorways and I don’t hate any of them! The wool that is… 😉

      • Lidiya says:

        Hahah, I don’t mind waiting for both colorways. I haven’t seen it in person at all, so any little bit will help. From what I’m reading it’s really great stuff (and the blanket looks great in that colorway). Maybe I’ll keep an eye out for it at the MDSW, so I can at least fondle it, if not take it home.

  3. Robyn says:

    It is gorgeous, Patti! And thanks to linking to his blog – fascinating process. I love how he explains the difference between worsted spun and woolen spun, which always confused me. And may I second the raves about your color choice. Love, love, love it!

    How it is this yarn for scratchiness? I keep imagining that it is a bit scratchy, like a Shetland or thereabouts. I haven’t encountered any of it in person, yet.

    • pattiblaine says:

      It is a bit scratchy although not as much as Shetland, imo. I wouldn’t wear it next to my skin in a sweater, but mittens and even a scarf or hat would probably be comfortable. My skin is a bit sensitive, however. I’m sure there are folks who could handle it.

      It was a bit scratchy — hard, even, rather than soft — as I worked with it. So I knit a gauge swatch (for a blanket, snort) so I could wash it and see if I’d even like the stuff worked up. It took on a much gentler personality immediately and that was fun. And the working up was enjoyable too.

      I think the greatest pleasure though is that it’s a well-thought out product, from beginning to end, or so it seems! Worth throwing a little money at. 😉

Leave a Reply

