Off the needles… and on

Two weeks ago, with some pomp and circumstance, I blew my own horn a bit regarding a recently finished bit of knitting. About a week later, I finished another bit of knitting and said absolutely nothing. I may have been under the influence of a virulent virus (I was), but still, I finished the 2nd of a pair of socks that I began in November of 2009 and really, I should have celebrated a little. Aside from rolling over and yawning, and then blowing up snot, I did no such thing.

So here you go. The overdue celebration for the finished socks. These are Retro Rib Socks (Ravelry link here), and the third incarnation of them I’ve knit (Pair #1 and Pair #2 at Ravelry). The pattern is Evelyn A. Clark’s from Favorite Socks, and for you readers interested in such things and unable to go to Ravelry.com, they are knit on US#2 (double-pointed) needles with Cascade Yarns Heritage Paints.

I know world-class sock knitters. I am not one of them. The yarn used in these was rather dark, and I started out knitting them two-at-a-time, one-inside-the-other and it just wasn’t working, but I tried to make it work for about a year. About 3 months ago at only about an inch into them, I gave up on the whiz-bang wonder of knitting them both at once, separated them, and finished them one at a time. Slowly. I’m not big on knitting socks, but they’re useful and somewhat mindless, and there you go. A new pair in the drawer just in time for flip-flops, or so it seems.

Moving right along. I’m also in the process of revisiting another knitting pattern: Celtic Knot Afghan (Ravelry link here), a Maureen Egan Emlet design found in The Ultimate Book of Knit Afghans. I’ve knit this afghan twice already (Incarnation #1 and Incarnation #2, both Ravelry links) each time with Cascade Yarns 220, a lovely serviceable wool. This time, however, as it is for Kate who has a very cold room in the winter, I’m knitting it with alpaca. Berroco, Ultra Alpaca to be precise. Needles? US#9, circular so that the weight of the growing fabric rests in my lap and doesn’t mess with my wrists.

It takes forever to knit these afghans, half an hour for just one row and there are a few hundred rows, and because I don’t often have half an hour at a time to myself I don’t often work on it. Kate isn’t expecting it any time before next winter. Wise girl.

Next up? The first of my self-imposed 12 pairs of mittens in a year. Begun 29 March, a date significant only to me, I’ve the thumb to finish on the first of the pair for this month. Ravelry link here, it’s a fiddly pattern, but fun. Green Autumn/Druid Mittens, by Jared Flood from the Fall 2008 edition of Vogue Knitting. I’m using US#1 double-pointed needles for the cuffs which were too big and sloppy in the prescribed #3s but #3s for the body and thumb of the mitten as the #1s yielded a mitten that would have been far too fine for a child, but would, alas, only have fit a child. The yarn is leftover from a dress I knit Kate back in the winter/spring of 2006, JaggerSpun Maine Line 2/8.

Also, on double-pointed needles for the moment (US#7 and #8) and soon to graduate to a short #8 circular, is the first sleeve (right or left is yet to be determined) of a sweater for Bruce. Brownstone (yet another Ravelry link), another Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed design, knit in Shelter (colorway Sweatshirt). I’m starting with the sleeves as they’ll be more portable and easier to pick up and put down when I’m knitting in class this coming weekend. The body will require longer circulars in #6, #7 and #8. (Yes, Lidiya, I’ll send you whatever is left of the yarn!)

And finally, because everything old is new again, because this pattern is familiar enough that I can knit it in the dark, and because the socks fit well and I believe that socks that fit well are well worth having in abundance, I’ve got another pair of Retro Rib Socks (last Ravelry link of this post, I promise) on those US#2 double-pointed needles. This time in Wisdom Yarns Poem Socks, a beautifully-dyed, fuzzy single. Knitting in the dark is a little easier with this yarn.

There you have it. The state of the knitting here as I see it. Any questions?

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Knitting mittens, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Unfinished things, Woolly thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Off the needles… and on

  1. Diane says:

    Well done!!

  2. beautiful, all of them! Its how we are; little bits here and there, and time goes by, and we have an afghan, or a pair of socks, or a teen age (or grown!) child–they slip through our fingers, lovely held for a moment, and changed by our touch and attention.

  3. Robyn says:

    Impressive list there Patti! And I can’t believe you are knitting that afghan for a third time…hats off to you!

  4. Lidiya says:

    Yay! At this rate I’ll collect enough for a project. I wonder if I’ll find any at MDS&W. I need to browse patterns before that though. There is no way I can afford enough to make an afghan, but I’m not sure it’s soft enough for a hat or scarf. I have that magazine that you’re making the mittens out of, maybe I’ll look at the other mittens in that issue and pick something out…

  5. Pingback: Mittens impossible? I don’t think so. | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

