Peanut butter fudgies

Kate asked me to make these cookies before Lent began but there was no time and then she gave up chocolate. And so, as soon as I was able after we entered the season of Easter I made peanut butter fudges. More of a brownie than a cookie, Sharon Tyler Herbst developed this recipe for her father who loved peanut butter and chocolate.

The recipe requires mixing the batter from a recipe I have not tried then spreading half of it in a pan, sprinkling that with a “streusel” made of peanut butter, brown sugar and flour, carefully spreading another layer of batter, and then sprinkling with the remainder of the “streusel.” I will have to make the foundation recipe (double fudge brownies — how do you spell that noise Homer Simpson makes over donuts?) another time. Ultra-rich, it has double the chocolate of the average brownie recipe. The foundation recipe has several variations of its own which I may revisit as time, appetite and waistbands allow. Dense, chewy and oh so good.

In knitting news, I have set aside Bruce’s sweater and Kate’s afghan to help a friend knit a model sweater for a design of hers. I am responsible for a sleeve, just the one. Right or left to be determined by the knitter who attaches it to the body. I am learning new things, both about knitting and myself, so it’s all good. I have to finish by Friday though as the double-pointed needles I’m using are necessary for my next pair of mittens, and the designer really wants the sleeve before the weekend. I have at least 10 inches more to go… Eep! Guess what I’m working on this evening!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut butter fudgies

  1. dawnk777 says:

    The cookies (brownies) look delicious! That sleeve looks cozy and warm! Good luck getting it finished!

  2. Pingback: Once upon a time … | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

