In which I remember (belatedly) I have a blog

My apologies. Late May and early June are a bundle of crazy for me work-wise. Preparing for the end of the school year at my so-called job involves acquiring and sorting through over 1300 books for appropriate reading levels for the 240-plus students who will receive them, then packing them up and moving them to the location where volunteers will help bag them in groups of 5 with pencils and bookmarks, then tidying up after that, and preparing for the delivery dates. And there are cakes to order, details to nail down for our small part in the Kindergarten moving up day (101 city-school Kindergarteners transform into 1st graders before our eyes on Monday!) and on top of all that I had an 8 to 10 page paper (done yesterday!) to write for my class back in mid-May that involved my head being in an entirely different place than where it had to be for everything else, and a daughter to shepherd through end of music school recitals and all their attendant hoopla as well as her preparation for Regents exams and finals at real school, to say nothing of preparing for traveling next week to DC. And a garden, and a squirrel-obsessed dog. And a road trip in a rented van to WV and Pittsburgh, PA with a dear old friend to pick up a loom and generally reconnect.

Under these circumstances, I did what any sane knitter in my shoes would do. I stopped baking cookies, and I started knitting Nordic Mittens by Beth Brown-Reinsel in Icelandic wool from Frelsi Farm that I picked up at Rhinebeck last October. These are my 29 May through 28 June mittens. Nearly record-breaking heat recently and I’m knitting Icelandic wool Nordic mittens. That’s sane, yes? One is done, the other at about half cuff, and I’ve broken only two of my Brittany double-pointed sock needles. One US#1 and one US#2. I switched to Crystal Palace bamboo in the US#2 as my other set of Brittany’s are involved with a sock currently. The mittens are thick and warm, and huge. They are supposed to be a women’s medium, but the main color I’m using is slightly heavier than a sportweight, and so these will only fit a woman with man-hands. Or they’ll fit a man. They fit Bruce and he’s happy about that.

I do hope to get back to the cookie-baking today, and bake another batch or two (one as a farewell to Harry the letter-carrier whose last day delivering here will be whilst Kate and I are in DC) before we leave next Thursday, but more on all that in another post. I’ll try not to forget I have a blog again too soon!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Higher ed, Knitting mittens, Unfinished things, Worky work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

