Peanut Butter Rebels and mittens

Yesterday I baked. Peanut Butter Rebels (of US origin) are my latest foray into Sharon Tyler Herbst’s The Joy of Cookies and they are not your typical peanut butter cookie. The recipe calls for cream cheese and maple syrup, and they are not crunchy or crisp, but instead soft puffs of peanut butter. Sprinkled with chopped peanuts, and spiced with nutmeg and cinnamon they are fragrant and delicious.

We use real maple syrup here. And not just your light amber variety. We use what is called Grade B in most states, but in NY is graded Extra-Dark For Cooking. If you like maple syrup, and prefer it dark, you’ll love this. I stumbled upon it at a farmers’ market in NYC one early spring, and have looked for it wherever we’ve been since. Usually when I ask a maple grower whether he or she sells it, they are surprised I know of it, and compliment my taste. Occasionally I’ve heard, “We don’t sell that grade. We keep it for ourselves!” They know what’s good. It’s worth the expense and makes these cookies sing!

I finished knitting the Nordic Mittens on the 28th and spent most of the 29th weaving in the ends. I also started my 29 June mittens (William It Was Really Nothing, by SpillyJane Knits with Knit Picks Palette fingering weight wool) at some point during the day and managed to make it halfway to the first thumb easily. They will continue to go much faster, I’m sure, as they require only two colors of wool and don’t have thumb gussets, and I don’t have a paper to write or books to give away or an event to coordinate volunteers for in the next month. I need a vacation just thinking about most of June!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Knitting mittens, The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peanut Butter Rebels and mittens

  1. Pingback: Sugar Bush Softies | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

