Rampaging zucchini! And other garden matters

The zucchini has run amok. It starts in the furthermost corner of one vegetable bed, runs out into the lawn and around a second bed, has made its way into the third bed and is taking over the spent strawberry plants there. And although it came late to the game production-wise, it is still producing zucchini. I am not complaining. We have been eating roasted zucchini once a week this month, and at least two of us have enjoyed every bite!

In other garden news, the tomatoes have also been slow. The squirrels have beaten me to a few of them. Or is it chipmunks who are foiling my vine-ripening tomato plan? Whichever, they will eat a third of a green tomato and decide the fruit either isn’t to their liking or they’ve had quite enough and will leave the remains scattered about the yard, incensing Carmen the dog.

The broccoli plants, which I sowed seeds for in May expecting food much sooner than now (are we sensing a theme here?), have finally started producing edible florets. I harvested the first of those on Monday this week along with a tiny pepper, the lone fruit of one pepper plant, the sole survivor of the squirrel/rabbit/chipmunk spring campaign against all new growth in the vegetable beds.

The garden orb weaver still has dominion over the green beans (click above right-hand photo to embiggen — if you dare). With a grudging respect for her industry I have taken to calling her Mrs. Weaver and think but am not sure that her first name is Sofia. I talk to her soothingly whilst bean harvesting. Mostly to keep my own self calm. She is disturbingly large and very shy. She retires to the shade of a leaf when the sun is high and if I rattle her web too violently with my picking. There will be a few more quarts of green beans to freeze before the first heavy frost I think, if I am bold enough to continue working around her. As long as I know where she is, I feel as though I can.

Late last week, Bruce transplanted the tulip tree seedling and he is watering it regularly to prepare it for winter sleep. So far it has survived its second move of the year. The little fence is there to keep Carmen the dog at a distance as well as to remind us not to walk on it. I have tripped over the fence once already which tells me that was a good idea. We will add a tall stake to remind us where it is when the yard is covered with snow not too long from now.

Finally, speaking of running amok: This time of year, when the squashes dominate, I’m reminded of a short bit the movie Hocus Pocus. I’ve never seen it in its entirety but clearly remember Sarah Jessica Parker’s line from the trailers. I suspect it’s the best part of the movie anyway and that I’m not missing much… amok, amok, amok, amok!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rampaging zucchini! And other garden matters

  1. Planting a tulip tree– talk about long term thinking! Go Bruce!
    Tulips are so lovely–the best are under the aerial tram at the bronx zoo–you can ride over them and look down on the lovely flowers on the crown of the tree. –but even from underneath, (the ground) they are lovely (eventual!)

    • pattiblaine says:

      We may never see it bloom. But I think, if it makes it through the next several seasons, it will be strong and beautiful and will offer abundant shade to whatever is standing beneath it in 50 years. 😉

Leave a Reply

