A year slipped by… as did half a month

According to my records, I began this blog adventure a year ago yesterday. A belated happy blogiversary to me! Or whatever it is that I was supposed to say re: that.

Also according to my records, I began a newsy blog post on the 1st of this month, never finished it, and put out something about a bar cookie to distract my readers on the 5th. And now it is the 18th.

Early October was crazy here. The tutoring program at an inner-city school, which I coordinate, began on the 11th after an orientation meeting on the 6th, which means I made sure tutoring materials were in place, for volunteers, teachers, administrators and students, by the 5th. Seventeen classrooms this year meant 16 carts of materials to transport to the school (for which I had massive help in the body and car of one magnificent person, plus a staff person at the church who went above and beyond as usual), 345 folders for each of the 345 students we will tutor, 51 sets of material for volunteers and a couple different types of that as different volunteers do different things. All whilst drumming up support in my copious spare time by visiting ministry fairs at other churches, etc. etc. And the gilding of the lily? (q.v. re: gilding the lily ad nauseum) An awards ceremony for community asset builders on the 1st, mostly outdoors at the zoo in weather that was more mid-November than early October. Sure. I had time for that.

In that post I began on the 1st, there was a photo of the certificate (above) awarded to the program for which I am responsible. Each of our volunteers from last year got one too. There were two other photos (also above), one of mittens in progress (since finished during little bits of time here and there — see below and Ravelry link) and one of an acorn squash I grew accidentally (planted sugar pumpkins, harvested 0; did not plant acorn squash, harvested 1 — composting is funny like that — we also harvested at least 6 completely inedible tiny volunteer canteloupes). Most of September, when I thought about it at all, I could not understand why that pumpkin was not turning orange, but woke up in the middle of the night (during all the frenzied late-September/early-October activity I did that a lot) to the realization that it was not a pumpkin at all. The dinner built around that delicious acorn squash is a distant memory now.

Looking back on all that, I cannot for the life of me figure out how I finished knitting a pair of mittens. According to my records, they are knit! However, looking back on all that? I do understand why I have shingles, again.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Knitting mittens, Worky work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year slipped by… as did half a month

  1. Erin says:

    Pretty pretty mittens! So sorry about the shingles. 😦

Leave a Reply

