Update on the knitting, aka the source of my sanity … or what’s left of it

I’ve started a new sweater with yarn I had stashed away from a going-out-of-business sale a few years ago. The sweater is a Jo Sharp pattern and the wool is the no-longer-produced Debbie Bliss Aran Tweed. Ravelry link here. For this sweater I had to supplement my stashed 13 skeins of yarn by scrounging around other Ravelers’ stashes and asking if they were willing to part with theirs for a price. I lucked upon a fine woman who had 10 skeins and gave them up gladly for about the same deeply-discounted price I paid per skein for the 13. Which is awesome-sauce. Except I will probably have 9 skeins left-over and need to think again about how to rid myself of them! I am sure Robyn will come up with something someday not too far off, and if I have not paid it forward to another Raveler by then, the purple will do good wherever she needs it!

Why would I start another sweater you ask? Well, I finished Bruce’s. Another Ravelry link. He’s not sure about the buttons. They may be a little … hmm, what’s the word? … delicate for his taste. But he loves the sweater. He’s worn it once already and has declared it the warmest thing he owns. That’s a good thing as winter will soon be upon us.

I also finished a pair of socks that have been tossing around in my bag for months. I only ever worked on them in fragments of time gleaned in post office queues and church pews, and so they took a while to finish. I was working on the second one two weeks ago at the Memorial Art Gallery provisional docent training in a class on light and color, and our instructor held one aloft as a demonstration piece. They are bright and colorful!

According to Ravelry, I have knit the Retro Rib sock pattern four times now. I nearly have it completely memorized. Because my hands must have something to do in moments of idleness (what can I say? it’s a sickness), I have started another pair. These are a new-to-me pattern, however, and so may be difficult to work on in some of the darker settings in which I find my hands idle as I will have to consult a chart now and then. I will learn it eventually! But I might be on the third sock by then. The pattern is Edwardian Boating Socks, knit with hand-painted sock yarn I acquired once upon a time from Embraceable Ewe in Hamburg, NY. Ravelry link here.

Ravelry also reminds me that I am working on an afghan. We will not speak of that at the moment, however. It is a fine thing. It just has not been convenient to pull it out recently. Probably because one row takes half an hour to knit. And who here has that kind of time?

And then there are mittens. Yesterday when I really should have been working on my paper on a Pauline passage in Philippians, I started my 29 October pair, Jared Flood’s Northlight Mittens knit in St-Denis Boreale (two colors: Fjord and Silver/Argent). Again with the Ravelry link.

If you will recall, I made a solemn vow a little while ago. No more afterthought thumbs. Well, it’s time to put my money where my mouth is. This pattern of Jared’s calls for afterthought thumbs. But no! I am knitting thumbs with forethought and the gussets to prove it! And two-color thumb gussets at that. Yikes.

Whilst at Eastman yesterday as Kate rehearsed Schumann’s piano quintet with her string friends for three plus hours, I spent at least a good half hour charting thumb gussets on a yellow legal pad I had with me for the writing assignment. I probably should have left the knitting at home… but when I got home? I knit the cuff-lining of a mitten. Which begs the questions: How can a pair of mittens fine enough to have cuff-linings not have thumb gussets? And exactly when am I going to write this paper?

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Knitting mittens, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), Unfinished things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update on the knitting, aka the source of my sanity … or what’s left of it

  1. Sarah says:

    Congrats on getting so much knitting done! It all looks fantastic! The new mitten pattern is gorgeous.

  2. Robyn says:

    Thanks for the linkage…and for using the term “awesome sauce”, which is my absolute favourite new phrase. But what really made me laugh out loud in the fully spelled out sense of the words was the look on Bruce’s face in that photo. I guess he is a little…errr….tentative about those buttons. I think they are awesome sauce but that might be just the kind of endorsement to send him to the scissor drawer…

    • pattiblaine says:

      Bruce was ready for a run and so wearing running shorts which he was trusting me (sort of) to crop out of the photo. Also, Carmen the dog kept jumping onto his bare knees. He’s warming to the buttons more than his face tells here! Which is awesome-sauce because I really don’t want him snipping these off.

    • pattiblaine says:

      Spoke too soon, Robyn. The girlie buttons must go! Will look for manly wooden or pewter buttons in the next several days and snip these off myself. sigh.

Leave a Reply

