Of things thought lost forever

Remember this? I am happy to report that there is much rejoicing! However, we will have to downgrade our plans for a glass-bottomed-kayak-based, kite-wreck tour and settle for a kite-wreck museum.

My aunt has reported the lost kite found. I am told that my cousin spotted it, from the guest house with binoculars no less, not far from where it went down. My uncle and cousin retrieved it, and my uncle has promised to bring its battered body home to us when they travel along the north shore of Lake Michigan, over the Straits of Mackinac, south past Lake Huron and between Lakes Erie and Ontario to my parents’ home in late February 2012.

Yet to be determined: Will Gordon Lightfoot pen a song we can play on endless loop in the museum gift shop?

The legend lives on from the Chippewa on down of the big lake they call Gitche Gumee…

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Crazy talk, Extracurricular, Woolly thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of things thought lost forever

  1. dawnk777 says:

    That’s awesome! You’d have thought that the kite would have been lost forever! You just never know!

  2. Fiona says:

    Excellent news! There’s nothing worse than not knowing, although OTOH that to me means there is still hope…however the kite can now be given an honorable funeral 🙂

Leave a Reply

