Coconut shortbread

Sharon Tyler Herbst credits the Fiji Islands for the combination of butter, sugar cane and coconut in these delightful bites. They are deliciously rich as is, but dipped in her addition of semi-sweet chocolate? Be still my heart! Ok, not that still. Keep beating despite that sudden influx of butter, please?

Sweetened, flaked coconut and a third of a cup of sugar are the primary sweeteners in our latest exploration of The Joy of Cookies: Coconut shortbread. I baked these this morning whilst also making a big pot of chili. The house smells fabulous! Too bad we will be spending the afternoon and evening elsewhere.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coconut shortbread

  1. DawnK says:

    Darn it. That all sounds yummy! Chili for tomorrow?

    • pattiblaine says:

      Chili for the future. It all went into the freezer. Today I have time to cook something new, and again tomorrow. Tuesday’s up for grabs right now, but still there’s time to cook. A novelty around here… four days in a row!

  2. Fiona says:

    I’m on my way!!!

  3. I’ll come by while you are out and feast!–I’ll make a corn bread, and leave you crumbs to know i was there! (well, i can dream can’t i?–Its a good thing you are far away–I am seriously dieting, and chili and cornbread and shortbread cookies would be all bad for my effort!)

Leave a Reply

