A two-fer

First up, chocolate-dipped sablés (or Sablés de Caen, if you prefer the French name), or as I like to think of them, black is the colour of my true love’s heart. Not that there’s anything amiss in Camelot. It is just that as I was dipping these fine shortbread hearts in melted chocolate I kept humming the song, inexplicably.

These are lovely. Fragrant with orange rind, buttery and delicious, these are the first cookie I have ever made that called for four hard-cooked egg yolks, sieved. Needless to say, lunch yesterday was four hard-cooked egg whites.

Sharon Tyler Herbst says the sablé hails from Caen, in Normandy, and that dipping them in chocolate is decidedly not traditional. She also describes the dark chocolate and orange rind combination as a “delicious culinary ménage à deux.” Cannot argue with that.

Another association I was unable to shed from my brain as I made these was our recent journey along county road H-58 in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and the sight of the Grand Sable Dunes. Sablé is French for sandy, or apparently, shortbread biscuit. There are a lot of French names in the UP. Au Train, Grand Marais, Sault Ste. Marie, and on and on. None pronounced the way they once were, I’m sure, but interesting to encounter nonetheless.

Second up, cranberry chews. These are a bar cookie using walnuts, oats, whole-berry cranberry sauce and orange marmalade, scented with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Rich and delicious! They are extra tasty slightly warm, and would be magnificent with tea… And I do not say that about just any cookie! Yum!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A two-fer

  1. Sarah says:

    Yum! The cranberry bars sound divine.

  2. Sault (as in Sault Ste Marie) is based a on root word meaning JUMP. (the water (rapids) JUMP from one lake to the other)
    The dish salt em boca is to “jump in your mouth” (there is a ski term, too about a kind of snow that is jumpy..but i don’t ski so i always forget it.)
    Somersault is an other sault/jump word–they are all over once you begin to look. Maybe your chocolate covered sables should be sault sables–they look like they want to jump into my mouth!
    (Sandies are the very best sort of cookie!)

    • pattiblaine says:

      These sablés are so, so very good, Helen. I understand your desire! 🙂 And not at all difficult to make. I felt like crap most of the day yesterday and the day before when I started them, and the making of both of these did not overly sap my feeble energy.

Leave a Reply

