Merry-Happy-Happy yadda yadda

We are between Christmas Day and New Year’s here (obviously), recovering from a late night celebration of the now-15 year-old’s birthday (less obvious), and despite the fact I’ve a paper due on Tuesday next week and am singularly behind in both research and sleep, I’m taking a few minutes to catch up here, wish everyone who reads a joyous yadda yadda, and post yet another cookie entry.

We have had a busy, healthy week off from our various obligations thus far. I have a 1,715 book order to prepare and another grant proposal to work on in addition to the research paper, and I have been doing a fine, fine job, if I must say so myself, of procrastinating on all three. Girl needs a break, to speak in the third person about a much younger individual than I for the moment.

I gave knitted gifts (below: 29 November mittens and 29 May mittens) to two people this Christmas. Both recipients reside here and it will be easy to see whether or not these mittens receive the level of respect they so richly deserve. Also, as resident hand-washing launderer, I will be sure they are washed properly. I gave a skein of handspun to a friend in Australia who is a relatively new knitter. The distance may be a kindness to both of us on that front!

At some point during the week before Christmas I discovered that a sweater I was knitting is unwearable as currently formulated. I was using a pattern for which the yarn was not intended and vice versa. I thought I had modified the pattern sufficiently, but no. The mound of knitting above is a pair of sleeves in the midst of re-knitting laid on top of a sweater body that needs a good 20 rows more in each armscye. Maybe it’ll be ready to wear before the end of January. Maybe. And maybe not. Details about the sweater pattern/yarn combo are available here: Ravelry project page. It’s for me so no hurry.

Finally, Sharon Tyler Herbst introduces this particular cookie with a series of ellipses and exclamation points in The Joy of Cookies. Coffee! Chocolate! Butter! Toasted pecans! Maybe she ate too much mocha? Or maybe that’s just me. Let she who is without caffeine cast the first stone!

These are rich (1-1/4 cups of butter) and sweet (1 cup of powdered sugar and a 1/2 of dark brown) with a little zip from a bit of cinnamon (1/4 teaspoon) and a bit more of instant coffee powder (2 tablespoons!) and a whole 12 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips! And then there are toasted chopped pecans! Ahem. Maybe a little too much caffeine. Ms. Herbst calls them mocha-chocolate chip dreams. Indeed! If, that is, I can sleep. Yum!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Crazy talk, Extracurricular, Knitting mittens, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Merry-Happy-Happy yadda yadda

  1. Cindy Brown says:

    Patti, I remember you! As a designer for…well, we shouldn’t mention that name. Bad memories, huh? You are living here in Rochester now? Think I remember you were in NYC, but that was years ago. I live in Fairport, NY now. I’m still designing, had a couple of designs published in Just Cross Stitch, but that’s about all. Don’t want to self publish, and just don’t trust anybody else enough to go through them again. LOL!

    • pattiblaine says:

      Cindy, would you believe I’ve forgotten that name? Every once in a great while I troll the internet looking for the lost designs, wondering if she’s making money off her perfidy, but mostly I’ve put it all behind me. Including the designing part. It rather knocked the wind out of that part of my life! I still have a large supply of DMC, but I do not use it. Much more of a knitter now. I’m glad you are still designing and that Just Cross Stitch is publishing your work now and then. Very good!

      We moved to Brighton in 2006. I long to go back to NY, but the other two in this family are quite happy with school and work here. And then there’s the dog who is rather fond of the backyard and freedom to run. 🙂 Happy New Year to you and yours!

  2. Fiona says:

    Torture!!! Here I am, feeling on top of the world for the first time in months, rarin’ to go with my Resolution to lose weight….and my other resolution to (eat) work my way through Ms Herbst’s magnum opus 😦 As you say, what’s a girl to do? Maybe I should take up knitting mittens which would consume calories so I could justify the calorific input from the baking? Or wear the mittens thus produced so as to render baking impossible at best, unhygenic at least.

    Or maybe I should stop reading your blog…….no, that’s not an option 😉

    I’ll work on the problem over a cup of coffee and a couple of cookies.

    Happy ne year to the Blaine household.

    • pattiblaine says:

      LOL, Fiona. I don’t mean to lead anyone into sin! And I’m afraid (as evidenced by my own physique) that knitting does not burn enough calories to offset those brought on by cookie consumption. I need to start giving these away, I think, but my family might protest bitterly!

      I raise my coffee cup in your general direction: Happy New Year to the Birchall household too!

  3. Pingback: Why, yes. I do still knit. Thanks for asking. | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

