Mittens impossible? I don’t think so.

A year in mittens.

Last year at around this time I promised myself I would try to knit a pair of mittens a month for a year. I have made other promises here. For example, something about cookies, if I recall correctly, although I was purposefully vague about time on that one.

Regardless, here they are in no particular order: 12 pairs of mittens. Done! Ravelry links below for those interested in the details regarding yarn, pattern, level of annoyance over lack of thumb gussets, etc. Oh, and seeing which I knit when. Almost forgot that bit.

29 March 2011

29 April 2011

29 May 2011

29 June 2011

29 July 2011

29 August 2011

29 September 2011

29 October 2011

29 November 2011

29 December 2011

29 January 2012

29 February 2012

Happy Birthday to me!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, Knitting mittens, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mittens impossible? I don’t think so.

  1. Sarah says:

    Beautiful!

  2. sarahelana says:

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations! That is quite an accomplishment. I want to do a pair of socks a month for a year, but I’m scared that I’ll get really bored with it, or that it will be super stressful.

    • pattiblaine says:

      Thank you! I wanted to knit a pair of socks a month too, but thought I’d have better luck completing a pair of mittens a month instead. I chose a variety of patterns that would challenge, but included some that use larger needles and heavier yarn to give me a few easy months along the way. Also, I think I only got bored with one pair, but pushed on because I was so looking forward to starting the next pair. Good luck with whatever you decide to knit!

  3. dawnk777 says:

    Beautiful mittens! That was a lofty project. So cool that you really finished it!

Leave a Reply

