Lenguas de gatos

Cats' tongues/lenguas de gatos.

On my second attempt to make these cats’ tongues from Spain, I have succeeded. I made a colossal mess whilst baking them, but they are edible this time. The batter is very thin and so difficult to put into a pastry bag, and then piping it onto the cookie sheets is a bit of a crap shoot, but success! nonetheless. I did not have a pastry bag until i decided to try this recipe. Sharon Tyler Herbst says that if you do not have one, you can make one from waxed paper. Frankly I cannot imagine how that would have worked with these cookies! It is possible that the farm fresh eggs I was using were a little large, and so added more egg white than she thought likely. If making them again and finding the batter that thin, I think I will make an executive decision and add more flour. But I think it is much more likely I will never bake them again. Ms. Herbst’s variations are tempting though: Nutty cats’ tongues with chopped toasted almonds, hazelnuts or walnuts; Chocolate-filled cats’ tongues — little sandwiches with creamy chocolate frosting in the middle; and Jam-filled cats’ tongues with apricot or raspberry preserves sandwiched between two then dipped in melted semisweet chocolate. Ok that last one might make me try again. Maybe.

Personal note: There is much rejoicing here as I have finished another paper and filed the tax returns and read two articles for my next class. It has been a productive weekend despite my feeling like crap with a sore throat and ears and sinus whatnot. This week productivity goes out the window, however. I am driving Kate to a chamber music competition about one and a half to two hours from here. Her quintet’s audition time? 9 p.m. on a school night. Of course all five want to stay to hear the results which are scheduled for some time after 10 p.m. That’s Tuesday. I have scheduled a lie-in for Wednesday morning. That and plowing through several more pages of a 472-page book, also for my next class. So far? I’ve taken about two weeks to read a tenth of it. Oy!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

