Essential

I am sitting in a coffee-shop near where Kate is attending a make-up session of her History of Western Music class. It’s her last of the year, and although she is very good at it, she is glad to be done with it. I’m glad too. One less day of trekking to Eastman for a few months. It all starts up again in September, but after next Friday’s hour and a half long piano lesson, she will be done for a couple of weeks until summer lessons start, and those will be the only thing that bring us to Eastman for five weeks of summer. The break will feel luxurious and will be welcome. Essential, even.

I am knitting the sleeves of a cardigan while sipping what must be my fifth cup of coffee today. It also feels essential. The coffee-shop is full of violists on a lunch break. A conference brought them here. Strange birds flocked together. Being amongst their own seems to make them very happy. As it should. It is pleasant letting their enthusiastic chatter wash over me as I knit. Or as I untangle my knitting, I should say.

I have been knitting in stolen moments for the past few days, yanking my work out of my bag whenever I am able to knit a few rows, and thrusting it back in hurriedly when it is time to move on. Because I am knitting two sleeves at the same time, I have two balls of yarn connected to the circular needle on which I am working, and after a few days of that level of care, they are understandably and somewhat hopelessly intertwined. The name of the pattern? Essential. As is this coffee break.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Essential

  1. Bridget says:

    If that is the coffee shop that I went to with you the day I dropped off that extra-skanky fleece, then yes. That is an excellent coffee shop in which to chill and take some time to try and disentangle things. Good memory. 🙂

  2. pattiblaine says:

    That is a good memory, Bridget. And yes, it is the same coffee shop. None the worse for the skanky fleece. Rather, the skanky fleece fit right in! Any time you want to drop by with another… 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

