Edinburgh squares

Liquid gold. Lyle’s golden syrup is amazing. It is not present in the base of this cookie, but with a cup of butter, one and a half of rolled oats and two eggs, it is not missed there. There’s a half a cup of it in the next layer, however, along with two cups of chopped walnuts, a cup each of currants, coconut and chopped candied cherries, and another half cup of butter, a tablespoon of crystallized ginger and two more eggs. And it shows up again in the golden glaze on top. One tablespoon mixed with a cup of powdered sugar and two tablespoons of orange juice. And …

Oh, sorry. Temporary sugar coma. Lost consciousness for a moment. I think Lyle’s golden syrup might be magic. Amazing slightly nutty taste. Why do we use corn syrup again? I know this stuff isn’t cheap, but I may switch over and never look back. It’s not like I use corn syrup that often.

Honestly, I didn’t think I would like these cookies. This is my first known taste of crystallized ginger, finely chopped or not, and having had a bit of straight ginger now and then, I was fairly sure I would not be a fan. I was wrong. These are good. And very rich. Kate doesn’t love them but surprisingly, Bruce does. They aren’t too fruity. Sharon Tyler Herbst says that dried apricots are a fine substitute for the currants or the cherries, but these are fine without them.

And speaking of Edinburgh, I took an overnight train from London to that city once. Paid for it the next day by sleeping in the park in the middle of the afternoon. Then turned around and went back to London on the next overnight train. Young and stupid. It was a beautiful day, at least what I saw of it. No golden syrup though. Pretty much living on a slice of bread and a cup of tea a day that week in the UK. These rich cookies would have knocked me over!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edinburgh squares

  1. Oh, I love crystalized ginger…to cook with, and to eat out of hand (as a digestive)–I think i might have added more than a tablespoon or two– i buy crystalized ginger in the dried fruit section–in the 2 cup containers–not in spice section (in 1 oz bottles)–In my house its a staple.
    but i don’t like “currents” (small dried raisins)–I like real currents (a small sour red berry) dried..but they are very hard to find in US. Zante currents (raisins pretending to be currents!) just don’t make it (i am allergic to raisins (grape skins–actually-and yes, red wine too!)
    But as always, forget the ingredients–the final results sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

