Hawaiian macadamia-coconut squares

I bought macadamia nuts for this recipe in late June. Other than the heat, I don’t know why I hesitated to make these for so long. Maybe it’s the thought of what the word Hawaiian does to pizza. Don’t misunderstand me. I love pineapple. I just don’t think it belongs on pizza. But there is no pineapple in these cookies. Macadamia nuts, coconut, coffee powder, cinnamon, vanilla, butter, flour, eggs and brown sugar. No pineapple. And no ham.

Thankfully I was completely misled by the word Hawaiian. They are delicious. Made and baked in two parts, the cookie has a base of flour, butter, brown sugar, coffee, cinnamon and salt. That is baked for 20 minutes then cooled for 15 and the topping is added: Eggs, more brown sugar, vanilla, more cinnamon and salt, coconut and chopped toasted macadamia nuts. Then the whole thing is baked for 45 minutes or so. When I asked Bruce and Kate what they thought of the results, they asked for more. Enough said.

Except this: The macadamia nut is not native to Hawaii. Who knew? Thank you John Macadam and friends!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hawaiian macadamia-coconut squares

  1. I am nuts about nuts–(about 1/4 of my freezer is used to store extras–) and once again–I just want to get in my car and drive to the other end of NYState to drop in and have a few. (well maybe if i suck up to you, you’ll bring me a cookie or two at Rhinebeck)

  2. Sarah says:

    Sounds delish!

  3. Marianne says:

    Those look amazing and just made my stomach rumble 😉

Leave a Reply

