While you were away

Kate loves the Chopin Ballade in G, Op. 23. She raved about it when she was first assigned it and never complained about learning it even though it’s not at all easy. She has been playing it for several months now, and has already performed it a few times. She doesn’t complain too much either when her teacher picks and keeps picking at all the little nits and jots and tittles of her technique. All of which is a very good thing as she plans to use the piece for her two-year theory project beginning in the fall of 2013, and so she will be playing it for a good long while yet to come, and I will have plenty of opportunities to hear it, both in formal recitals and as it’s being picked apart and over whilst I am working at home and sitting outside studio doors ad infinitum. But not today.

Today she probably practiced it at home for the better part of an hour, and then her father took her to Eastman where she performed it as one of several musicians in an advanced student recital. I was also one of several students today, several miles away from Eastman. I woke up early, not far from the shore of Canandaigua Lake, to the view above and and to the left, and it was a good place to be, both last night and today. I don’t regret that. I do regret missing Kate play the snot out of the Ballade on that luscious piano in that beautiful hall though. And I’m grateful to have the technology (and the husband brave enough to record her performance for me) to view it second-hand. I hope you enjoy it, too.

Ballade in G, op. 23, Kate Blaine – pianist, in Hatch Recital Hall at Eastman, 17 Nov 2012

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
Video | This entry was posted in Higher ed, On the fly (aka from a mobile device) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to While you were away

  1. Fiona says:

    What a wonderful performance! As I listened my thoughts went back to when Kate first auditioned for the school in NY – how old was she? Seven? I know you had home schooled for a while, and had some reservations about her taking up the offered place (and the jealousy of another parent, because you said you weren’t particularly concerned about music training for Kate…..) What a star 🙂

    • pattiblaine says:

      We only homeschooled one year, Fiona. Kate was five, going on six, when she was accepted into that school. It was (is) for students who show an aptitude for music in the early grade assessment process, not necessarily proficiency on an instrument–that’s tested for higher grade admission–although she had been taking piano lessons for about a year when she was tested. I’m glad she held her ground when the director tried to talk her into violin. Even at five she insisted on continuing piano!

  2. dawnk777 says:

    Beautiful piece. She plays it so well! Good for her at 5 to stand her ground! I was happy to see I have that piece in my iTunes library!

Leave a Reply

