Masitas de chancaca and avulsion fractures

I baked these molasses-coconut cookies some time early last week. And last week has become a distant hazy memory. I do remember the cookies were good. Everyone here liked them. Semi-soft and chewy. Good with milk. According to Sharon Tyler Herbst, chancaca is a “crude native molasses.” Further, “most palates prefer a more refined flavor.” Sounds vaguely prejudiced to me. Anyway, she substituted a light unsulphured molasses for chancaca in the recipe. My refined palate probably wouldn’t notice the difference.
______________________

I don’t know if you know this, but I do check the stats of this blog more regularly than I post to it. I can see that I’ve had visitors every day since last posting; visitors in an amount completely unwarranted by what little I’ve had to say here over all, let alone of late. I’ve been silent because I’ve been busy. And because I’ve been in pain and a little drugged up.

Saturday, as I left a wonderful party in the beautiful home of a gracious host, knitting friend and fellow blogger (A Crunchy Life; party co-hosted by another knitting friend, the oh-so-talented KAB of KAB’s Creative Concepts), I managed to miss a step and land on my ankle rather than my foot. I felt or heard something sinister, and was fairly sure I’d fractured something and, indeed, I had. After three plus hours in the emergency room I learned I had given myself a badly sprained ankle and an avulsion fracture. I also skinned one elbow. For the next little while (or long while — haven’t learned just how many days or weeks I’ll be living like this yet) I’m wearing an air-cast and using crutches to get around, elevating my foot whenever possible and avoiding putting weight on it at all times. I’m also building up sorely-lacking upper body strength I never imagined I’d need (emphasis on sore intended).

We have two sets of narrow steep steps in this house, and I must use one set every day if I want to sleep in my own bed, or drink coffee in my own kitchen — those being the two essentials in life, yes? I have never summoned more intentionality into how I move through space in my life as I do when climbing or descending those stairs. Plant, lift, controlled upswing, and repeat. Or lower, plant, controlled fall, and repeat. This is teaching me to be present in the moment and aware of every portion of my body in space like nothing else quite ever has.

The timing of this life lesson is … a little inconvenient. But I’m doing my best to make the most of what I can do and let go of what I simply cannot. I think it’s a good thing — an apropos of Advent thing even. As an annual Advent calendar we used to receive in our NYC Episcopal church days said: “Slow down. Quiet. It’s Advent.” Even if it does hurt like hell.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Masitas de chancaca and avulsion fractures

  1. dawnk777 says:

    There’s never a good time to injure and ankle or foot. Most of my life can be accomplished on the first floor of my house, but my computer and my washing machine are both in the basement! I’ve sprained my ankles plenty of times, but it’s been a really long time since I’ve misstepped and it makes me nervous sometimes. I hope your foot feels better soon! Does your aircast look like this? http://bit.ly/pneumaticwalker

  2. Lindsey says:

    Hoping with great fervor that it become easier for you to navigate your home on those crunches. And that you get that paper finished you had mentioned. It was a such a lovely evening, I’m still glad you were able to come despite the sour note it ended on. You’ll have arms of steel when this is done!

    • pattiblaine says:

      And abs of less butter, I’m thinking. I hate that I spoiled the beautiful evening in any way, Lindsey, and I keep thinking of Amy’s daughter, staring wide-eyed in horror. Yikes!

  3. Sarah says:

    Yikes! I’ve sprained my right ankle twice in my life. Never pleasant. Hope it heals quickly for you and that navigating around your house gets easier.

  4. Oh you are so much braver than me! when I broke a bone in my foot (and I was younger then, than you are now) I NEVER mastered used crutches on the stairs. I sat my self down, and went down stairs on my ass. (and couldn’t return to work till I was healed enough to be able to put weight on my foot. I could hop UP stairs right from the get go.. but down? (besides there was a glass door at the bottom of the stair. a fall would likely involve broken glass)
    On the other hand, I had lots of upper body strength–(still do!)
    Still you must have a freezer full of cookies to sit and enjoy–and do!

  5. Pingback: Carrying each other | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

