Chocolate-caramel chews

These bars give the word decadent a whole new, deep dark level of meaning. A chewy brownie base made of bittersweet chocolate, butter and brown sugar, topped with creamy, gooey caramel studded with toasted chopped walnuts and drizzled with a rich semisweet chocolate glaze. Heart-stoppingly delicious!

All three layers are to be cooked to one degree or another on the stove, and only the bottom cookie base spends time in the oven. Easy peasy start to finish, including clean-up.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate-caramel chews

  1. I think I just drooled on my laptop!

  2. D'Alta says:

    I never cease to be amazed at your love of baking cookies! I lack the attention span to tackle baking anything other than an occasional loaf of bread. Not even a love of eating cookies can drive me to the kitchen. In addition, I would be vying to become a contestant on The Biggest Loser. I never met a cookie I didn’t like…

    • pattiblaine says:

      I’m not sure I love baking cookies, Dorothy. This is more like an obsession with completing a collection than an exhibition of cookie-love for me. There’s this cookie cookbook and I am compelled to finish what I started and try every recipe in it. I’m learning new techniques and flavors along the way, enjoying some, hating others, and working out frustrations with other aspects of life as a side effect. Mind you, I do enjoy eating cookies… Rather too much, I’m sure!

  3. Lindsey says:

    Oh my. Another one that I really want to try. This would be a great choice for a future cookie exchange. 😉

Leave a Reply

