Chocolate-mint cookie sandwiches

Bruce was out of town for nine days recently, grading AP (advanced placement) statistics exams. He came home done in, exhausted and a wasted shell of a person. But we had a party to host that night anyway.

While he was gone I walked the dog three times a day, helped keep Kate’s body and soul together while she prepared and sat for her final and regents exams, continued the cleaning and sorting of tutoring materials now back residing in storage after seven months-worth of life in the wild at the school for volunteer tutors and students to use, and began training in earnest my replacement who begins 1 August even as I spent a day at the zoo with 1st grade, prepared for, attended and took five trays of cookies with four back-up bins-full to Kindergarten moving up day and got Kate ready for and through a few rehearsals, one recital and a church performance. Oh, and turned pages at the latter. Which was Brahms. Don’t get me started about humidity, repeats and second endings, and the tempo of the fourth movement. And there was party-hosting to prepare for.

I did not bake cookies. I did not do much knitting. I worked more hours a day than I care to think on. Seriously, as the disparity between the hours my job takes and the income I earn swings between disheartening and demoralizing nigh unto cripplingly depressing. The only thing that keeps me moving forward some days are the faces and stories of the children and volunteers I serve. But I digress. As usual.

At some point I mixed together butter that I had set out to soften (shortly before Bruce left for Kansas City) with sugar, an egg and melted bitter chocolate, among other ingredients, and then rolled the dough into two logs, wrapped those in plastic and set them in the fridge. Then promptly forgot about them until two nights ago, except when I had to relocate them twice to make room for party food.

Two nights ago I set out butter to soften for the buttercream mint frosting and yesterday I sliced the logs into coins, pricked half of those decoratively with a fork (lacking a cookie stamp), baked them, let them cool, spread one of a pair with frosting and made little sandwiches, let those set in the fridge for a bit while I melted semisweet chocolate with a little vegetable oil, and then dipped them into the chocolate for a decadently rich and delicious treat. The chocolate is excellently balanced with the light taste of mint. Almost refreshing in these early days of summer!

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies, Worky work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate-mint cookie sandwiches

  1. bakingandjoy says:

    These look SO delicious!

Leave a Reply

