White chocolate-almond macaroons

Airy and delicate may be two of the descriptors Sharon Tyler Herbst used in her blurb about these cookies. I baked them on the 28th of June before leaving for Ohio and our first whirlwind of vacation on the 1st of July and so have long forgotten what she wrote. I am typing this post at the laundromat, washing Kate’s sleeping bag for the first time since she brought it home from chamber camp last summer, or I would get up off my arse and look it up for accuracy’s sake. But no, the cookie cookbook is home and I am not and I intend to bang this entry out before the dryer cycle ends, so if I have lifted her words without adequate acknowledgement, so be it.

Airy and delicate they are. Essentially meringues (which, by the way, I am beginning to loathe but I have a promise to keep and there are meringues to go before I sleep — with apologies to Robert Frost), rich with finely ground almonds and melted white chocolate, these cookies are baked on cookie sheets lined with aluminum foil. Allegedly this is so they are easier to remove in one piece. The three in the photo above? Those are the best looking of the entire lot. Most, despite every effort to the contrary, came off the sheet looking like the photo to the left. I packed the cookies, crumbs and all, in a freezer box and stowed them in the freezer and left town.

We have eaten a few since returning from our second whirlwind vacation travels, and they are very good. However, they are too fussy and too sweet for me to attempt to bake again.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

