We interrupt this programme …

Last week, I mentioned my current then-current obsession with sock-knitting. I am nearly halfway done with the second sock of the latest pair which I cast on at one point or another during the 5th of August just after finishing the second sock of another pair, so I am still in the firm grasp of whatever this odd fever is that odd fever was. The siren call of sock yarns — their smooth finish, their wild palettes of color, hand-dyed, hand-painted — all still hold my attention. I am even carrying around the unfinished pair wherever I go, knitting on them as I wait in line at Wegmans, or for a movie to begin at The Little, or for my daughter to finish trying on clothes and choose school supplies as we shop for that holiest of holy days that is coming on swiftly: the first day of school.

However, this past week I gave myself over to another obsession. On Sunday morning I cast on the requisite 110 stitches for a hat and fell deeply and wholeheartedly in love with a sheep of a different color. Nine different colors, to be exact. I have become enamored with a hat and every shade of Shetland wool that goes into it. Nary a one is dyed or painted or tinted. They are sheepy colors with sheepy Shetland names like moorit, yuglet, katmollet, gaulmogot, mooskit, shaela, sholmit and white and black. I have no idea what the etymology of those names is, and am, uncharacteristically, only faintly curious and so leave you with this slim bit of information on that subject: this-and-that.

Dizzy from the height,
Coming from the hat,
Studying the hat,
Entering the world of the hat,
Reaching through the world of the hat
Like a window,
Back to this one from that.

Today I am finishing the hat. I wove in many ends as I went along for sanity’s sake, but at the bottom of chart C, after the band, chart B and two rounds of chart A, I stopped weaving in the ends and plowed ahead through the swift color changes. And so, now there are eleventy-hundred ends to weave in, or so it seems, and I will finish that today.

Today I am finishing the hat. Imagine that. Or, better, this:

Finishing a hat…
Starting on a hat…
Finishing a hat…
Look, I made a hat…
Where there never was a hat

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, On the fly (aka from a mobile device), the new normal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

