#KnittingNotKnitting

I am not supposed to be knitting. My fingers, hands and arms remind me of this dreary fact in the middle of the night, every night, and have done so for months, by waking me with either their acute numbness or their excruciating painfulness. Or, even more delightfully, both. /sarcasm

Despite doctor’s orders, I have (slowly) been knitting. I am in the midst of two — that’s right, I said two — pairs of socks, both designed by Cookie A and therefore full of twists and turns and complications. So, so not easy on my hands. I currently am averaging a couple of rounds a week on one of those pair. Needless to say, they will not be finished any time soon.

Color Affection

Color Affection (photo is a Ravelry link)


Additionally, I recently finished the shawl in the photo above. The final few, interminable rows of that had me in tears more than once. My own fault really. In adding more short rows than the pattern called for, I added many more stitches. I decided for my mental health’s sake not to count how many I bound off in the end. Over the course of two days.

One slightly unseasonably cool day last week made me realize that Pippa the dog will need winter clothing soon. (Have you met Pippa? She came into our lives this past March. I am told by those close to me that this was my idea. Which I do not remember having. Anyway, she has immeasurably enriched our lives.) At just 12 lbs with tags and collar, Pippa is a slender, short-haired wisp of a thing. Last fall I knit a sweater of sorts for Carmen the dog. And that cool day last week, again despite doctor’s orders, it occurred to me that I might need to knit another for Pippa before the snow flies. So I did what any reasonable, capable knitter (I may not be either one at this point) would do, and I dove into the tower of plastic bins in which I keep all the yarns in the world, and searched for suitable wool to knit a sweater for a slip of a dog. If you are a knitter, you know what happened next.

How to explain to the non-knitter? The tower of plastic bins holding all the yarn in the world (ok, all the yarn in my world) is like the rabbit-hole in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. There are exotic, weird, and wonderful things in there. Distraction upon distraction, interesting tale upon interesting tale, trail through the woods upon trail … You get the idea.

Rosella Flash

Fibreworks Hand Dyed Yarns, The Colours of Australia Rosella Flash


There I found this lovely and wild skein of fingering weight yarn, a gift sent years ago by an Australian friend, and thought “Wow! Why have I never made anything with this?” And so spent a little while winding it into a ball, admiring its ridiculous Crayola-box vividness, looking for a suitable pattern — all completely unrelated to the tiny problem that sent me stash-diving in the first place as it is completely unsuitable for a dog’s warm woolen sweater.

I settled on a pattern for the yarn, but it is to be a gift, if not for this coming Christmas, then Christmas 2015. Or 2016. After I have learned to knit with my feet. Pippa’s hand-knit sweater may have to wait a bit longer.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Knitting, Unfinished things and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #KnittingNotKnitting

  1. I am sorry to hear your hands give you so much grief when you are creating things you obviously love making. I hope they get better.

    • pattiblaine says:

      Thank you for your kind words (which I just now found). I am on the mend with judicious PT. I should write about that some time when I can obey my therapist’s orders about how to sit at the computer for a longer period of time!

  2. Dawn Klein says:

    Why was that yarn unsuitable for the dog? Or you didn’t want to give it to the dog? I’m sorry about your hands.

  3. Dawn Klein says:

    I work at a nursing home, so everyday, I’m pushing meds out out of the cards they come in. My right thumb doesn’t really appreciate that very much. Ouch.

  4. Pingback: Well. Where have *you* been? | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a Reply

