Hamantaschen

Also known as Haman’s Pockets.

Doesn’t that totally sound like something you might exclaim in surprise? Like “Odd’s bodkin!” or “Jumpin’ Jehoshaphat!” I plan to interject “Haman’s pockets!” in response to a pleasantly shocking situation some time soon. Just to see what happens.

Anyway. Our latest venture from The Joy of Cookies is Hamantaschen, an Israeli cookie according to Sharon Tyler Herbst. A traditional sweet of Purim, the poppy seeds were a little difficult to come by mid-July. The poppyseed filling consists of water, poppy seed, chopped raisins, orange zest, orange juice, honey, sugar, cinnamon, a tiny bit of salt, an egg and chopped toasted almonds. It is wonderful. Memorable. Delicious. And the cookie part ain’t so bad either.

They are, however, a time-consuming little delicacy to make, said the woman with no time. I confess to soaking the poppy seeds one day, then a couple of days later toasting the almonds. Still another day I ground the seeds, chopped the raisins and cooked the filling. Today I finished them. Haman’s Pockets made in little pockets of time here and there. Fitting.

About pattiblaine

Raised under the name of Snyder in the upstate NY town of Vestal, I've worked as a typesetter, a fast food salad bar tender, an art reviewer, a waitress, a part-time nanny, and a very-bad-with-phones temp. Once upon a time I was all-but-thesis toward a Masters in Art History. Now I'm just a mom with a lot of fiber squirreled away throughout the house. We call it insulation. In 2013 I completed a life-long learning program at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School, and am a postulant toward the diaconate in the Episcopal Diocese of Rochester, NY. In addition to coordinating volunteers for the soup kitchen, I volunteer as a tutor at a deeply impoverished city elementary school, and am a docent at the Memorial Art Gallery.
This entry was posted in Extracurricular, Finished things, The Joy of Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hamantaschen

  1. Fiona says:

    Mmmm, those do sound good! And exclaiming ‘Haman’s pockets!’ should produce an interesting reaction 🙂 I’m now trying to remember what it was that Jo March used to come out with…..must dig out a copy of Little Women before I fry my brain…..(all I’m coming up with is ‘By the bedsocks of Doctor Barnardo!’ which was quite different LOL)

  2. Fiona says:

    Of course I remembered immediately after posting, Patti: not as funny as I thought, it was simply ‘Christopher Columbus!’ which I suppose would have been considered unladylike (and therefore typical of Jo) in the 1860s 🙂 I think in a later book – probably Little Men – the family dog is named Christopher Columbus so if Jo is heard by those of a delicate nature it may be explained she is merely summoning the dog.

    Perhaps you should rename Carmen…… how does ‘I’m just taking Haman’s Pockets for a walk, dear’ sound? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Paradox, or Irish Whiskey-Seed Cakes and Pfaffenhütchen | Every Fibre of My Being

Leave a comment